Monday, July 27, 2009

cinemalaya winners

i want to believe that philippine cinema is well on its way out of a decade-long slump. new filmmakers are showcasing their creations in local festivals while relative veterans like dante mendoza, who won the best director prize at the most-recent cannes festival, are parading theirs in international markets.

last week, scores of independent movies were shown at the cultural center of the philippines during the fifth staging of the cinemalaya film festival.

last sunday, the winners were announced and here is the complete list:

• Best Film — Last Supper No. 3
• Special Jury Award — Colorum and Ang Panggagahasa Kay Fe
• Netpac Award — Baseco Bakal Boys
• National Council for Children’s Television Award — Dinig Sana Kita
• Audience Choice (Full Length) — Dinig Sana Kita
• Best Director — GB Sampedro, Astig
• Best Actress — Ina Feleo (Sanglaan)
• Best Actor — Lou Veloso, Colorum
• Best Supporting Actress — Tessie Tomas, Sanglaan
• Best Supporting Actor — Arnold Reyes, Astig
• Best Screenplay — Nerseri
• Best Cinematography — 24k
• Best Production Design — Mangatyanan
• Best Editing — Astig
• Best Musical Score — Dinig Sana Kita
• Best Sound Recording — Astig
• Best Short Film — Bonsai
• Special Jury Award (Shorts) — Blogog
• Audience Choice (Shorts) — Tatang
• Best Director (Shorts) — Dexter Cayanes (Musa)
• Best Screenplay (Shorts) — Behind Closed Doors

congratulations to all the winners. i wonder when will i get to see any of them. i am looking forward to watching "colorum", which allan diones of the newspaper abante raved about in his review.

No comments:

visit my sponsors - entertainment